Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: how to change IMEI?

Share/Bookmark
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default how to change IMEI? (strange phone)

    Hi!

    Some months ago my phone broke. I sent it to the seller (scophone) and they kindly sent me a replacement.

    But the model was slightly different...
    1) It has the word "DSTL1" printed on the front
    2) It has an additional front face camera
    3) There are no stickers behind the battery
    4) The IMEI is empty (0000000000) when pressing *#06#

    I noticed that this phone has very little coverage for one of the networks (spanish Orange). When I try to manually connect to that network sometimes I get "access denied". I guess the network does not like my IMEI (0000000000).

    Anyone knows how to change phone's IMEI?

    Last edited by acec; 04-23-2010 at 03:02 AM. Reason: photo
    Model: X2. Front Cam + 4Gb SD-HC
    ROM:
    hr3663_offical_release_mertkan_rooted_lcd
    +Google Patch
    Firmware version: 1.6
    Kernel: 2.6.28-svn3663

  2. #2
    Senior Member Sciphone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    440
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: how to change IMEI?

    WHaaat??? DO you have second camera in your N21????
    General Mobile DSTL1
    ROM: crzyruski - DSTL1 Donut Official v.1.1.0 rooted(with Build 3663 update files) + Google Apps Patch(Unofficial)
    Firmware version: 1.6
    Hardware version: V5T5 (X2A-T)
    Kernel: 2.6.28-svn2544
    [Thanks for Crzyruski]

    Motorola Backflip
    ROM: 2.3 GingerBread Unofficial w.Adobe Flash + MicroSDHC 8GB Class 6

  3. #3
    Member ucramos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    93
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: how to change IMEI?

    have you tried swapping sim cards to see if its really a network problem or a problem from one of the sim cards slots or antennas? if the same network gives the same problem from sim1 and sim2 it might be a sim card problem (wrong voltage or version and you might want to go to a store and ask for a replacement (newer card) or simply you have bad reception on your location.

    by the way... 2 cameras?????
    And it has X2 on the front and DSTL1 on de side.... that odd !
    Last edited by ucramos; 04-23-2010 at 09:39 AM.
    Sciphone N21 branded General Mobile DSTL1
    ROM: Offical r3663_donut + Root + Lcd Density ROM + Google Patch v1.3.1.1
    Firmware version: 1.6
    Hardware version: V5T5
    Kernel: 2.6.28-svn3663
    Recovery: Andferno v1.6.1.4
    Storage: 8GB Class 4
    Country: Portugal
    SIMīs: Tmn PT + Vodafone PT

  4. #4
    Senior Member Sciphone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    440
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: how to change IMEI?

    Can you call video calls??
    General Mobile DSTL1
    ROM: crzyruski - DSTL1 Donut Official v.1.1.0 rooted(with Build 3663 update files) + Google Apps Patch(Unofficial)
    Firmware version: 1.6
    Hardware version: V5T5 (X2A-T)
    Kernel: 2.6.28-svn2544
    [Thanks for Crzyruski]

    Motorola Backflip
    ROM: 2.3 GingerBread Unofficial w.Adobe Flash + MicroSDHC 8GB Class 6

  5. #5
    Senior Member crzyruski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,631
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thumbs up Re: how to change IMEI?

    I am currently making a tool to edit things like this. Its a work in progress, I will update when I have more

    ------------------------------------------
    Donations
    are welcome.
    All proceeds will be used to fund future projects and development.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    32
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: how to change IMEI?

    Quote Originally Posted by crzyruski View Post
    I am currently making a tool to edit things like this. Its a work in progress, I will update when I have more
    crzyruski: You are a great man.
    If you finish that tool, I will have to donate again

    An yes... It has two cameras but the camera apps I have tried do not allow to choose any other camera than the back one. So I haven't test it.

    The other odd thing is that it shows "unknown" in the hardware version info.

    ucramos: I tryed swtiching sims. SIM2 always has poor coverage... there is something wrong with SIM2 slot or antenna
    Model: X2. Front Cam + 4Gb SD-HC
    ROM:
    hr3663_offical_release_mertkan_rooted_lcd
    +Google Patch
    Firmware version: 1.6
    Kernel: 2.6.28-svn3663

  7. #7
    Senior Member crzyruski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,631
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: how to change IMEI?

    My IMEI SV has always been "unknown"...

    Quote Originally Posted by acec View Post
    An yes... It has two cameras but the camera apps I have tried do not allow to choose any other camera than the back one. So I haven't test it.
    BTW, I was just looking at kernel code the other day: There are options here for a secondary (front facing) camera that are not enabled by default. Now what app would actually make use of this secondary camera is beyond me, but it looks like it could be made to function...
    Last edited by crzyruski; 04-26-2010 at 09:39 AM.

    ------------------------------------------
    Donations
    are welcome.
    All proceeds will be used to fund future projects and development.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Sciphone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    440
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: how to change IMEI?

    General Mobile DSTL1
    ROM: crzyruski - DSTL1 Donut Official v.1.1.0 rooted(with Build 3663 update files) + Google Apps Patch(Unofficial)
    Firmware version: 1.6
    Hardware version: V5T5 (X2A-T)
    Kernel: 2.6.28-svn2544
    [Thanks for Crzyruski]

    Motorola Backflip
    ROM: 2.3 GingerBread Unofficial w.Adobe Flash + MicroSDHC 8GB Class 6

  9. #9
    Senior Member crzyruski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,631
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: how to change IMEI?

    @acec

    Is yours CDMA? Do both SIMs work?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: how to change IMEI?

    I believe being able to change the IMEI could result in problems with your GSM, because if you could change this number to any number, there will be consequences to it. What if you changed it to someone else's?
    If your phone doesn't have an IMEI, you should definitely ask for a replacement, or the IMEI number of that particular phone for that matter. It's obvious you've bought a well-crossed hybrid but unless you have the right software you won't be able to use the front camera. Our roms don't have such support. Anyways, changing IMEI is not a good idea.
    ---
    GM DSTL1
    ROM: OpenX2 v1.4.1.0+ boot_4050_4138_lzo_ext_CR
    Patches:GooglePatch_v1.3.1.0
    Firmware:1.6
    Recovery: Andferno v.1.6.1.4
    HW Version: V5T7
    Kernel: 2.6.28-1.4D

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •